Books, mother’s day and al-quran


Went to BookXcess yesterday to collect my membership card and wanting to buy “LiFE Wonders of The World” so bad sebab ada 30% off for members…Turns out dah sold out….im sooo arghhh, kecewa. So I look through Coelho’s title. They only got 3 title of him – Inspirations: Selections Literature Classic, A Warrior’s Life (his autobiography) and The Winner Stands Alone(his 2008 publication). I want to buy one, but wasn’t sure to buy which (reminded myself not to buy many, as I have loads of books at home waiting to be read).  A peek of one of each brings me to pick Inspirations : Selections of Literature Classic. Reasons why..I feels I have interest in literature but never pursuit any. When in secondary school, I have huge interest in English, thus literature in particular. Yeah some life decision we regret kan, I do tapi I know there’s a reason why.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And so I bought ‘Inspirations’, ‘Teddy Bear pop up’ book for my niece (sucker for kids book) and a book for my friend Ain by Wicked author. She’s a west-end musical fanatic. The only, among my circa. And also she’s an obsessed freak for fairy tales, which I find helpful because now I baru terhegeh-hegeh baca fairy tales. Well, honestly I don’t really read fairy tales and immersed. She did, she really did. When I find it hard to understand (or actually ‘believe’ a fairy tale), I ask her and she’ll clarify it.

Oh I pergi lagi bookxcess the other week and bought ‘Everything Selling Book’ for MYR14.30 sebab ada discount Mothers Day. Speaking of mothers day………theres a speculation going around by fellow ustaz and majlis fatwa even? (I am not sure weather Majlis Fatwa dah keluarkan statement haram or still in discussion)  that it is a haram celebration. I was kinda shocked. I just nak quote this from Imam Suhaibb Webb in his post

There is a legitimate scholarly difference surrounding this issue. Those who hold such celebrations as forbidden do so contending that such celebrations are “religious in nature” and amount to imitating the religious rites of others.

Those who contented that such celebrations are permissible, do so contending the opposite: such celebrations are not religious in nature and that the origin of things is permissible unless explicitly forbidden. Sheikh al-Qaradawi stated, concerning Mother’s Day, there is no way he considered it forbidden. He based his contention on the legal axiom: “Nothing is made forbidden except with a clear text.”

It is well known that al-Rajabiyah was a holiday observed by the Arabs before for the time of the Prophet [may Allah’s peace and blessing be upon him] up until the third century A.H. and the jurist differed on its ruling. The Hanabali’s considered it permissible, while the Malikis held it to be disliked.

As a convert to Islam and based on my humble legal training, I agree with the second opinion. Many of us, those of us who have converted to Islam, can use these moments to share the beauty of our faith with our families and loved ones in an non-hostile environment. Perhaps, by giving gifts to our parents we can heal wounds, build relationships and move forward. At the same time, such celebrations are based on the foundations of our faith: honoring one’s parents. Therefore, we should engage such holidays with the intention of fostering noble relations and spreading the beauty of our faith with others.

Allah knows best

http://www.suhaibwebb.com/relationships/marriage-family/parents/should-we-celebrate-mother%E2%80%99s-day-father%E2%80%99s-day/

Dr Mohd Asri also tweeted

“Antara kgnjilan fatwa dharamkn hari ibu, dhalalkn smbutn tahun baru..sdgkn kduanya asas yg sama, bahkn hari ibu lbih brfaedah.”

“Asas Islam; dlm daily life, apa saja yg Quran n hadis x haramkn maka halal. Dlm Islam yg haram sdikit dbandingkn yg halal.”

From hamka

“Apabila benda itu ada kebaikan, dan kebaikan itu tidak menjejaskan akidah, tak payah kita nak pening kepala berhujah itu ini begitu begini..

Setakat nak bagi hukum haram dengan alasan menyerupai orang kapir tak de hebatnya kawan..

Aku pun boleh bagi hukum haram jika nak jadi perasan bagus macam korang:

Contoh: kau tahu tak, menulis ni, dari kiri ke kanan, menyerupai orang  kapir, menyerupai tulisan dalam Bible, Sunnah Nabi menulis, kanan ke kiri, jadi korang semua ni haram main FB, main blog, sms dan semua apa ke jadah sebab menulis dari kiri ke kanan menyerupai orang kapir, haram! Jika nak main FB atau sms, kena guna tulisan jawi, baru halal “

I read about Malcolm X earlier. That name is well-known but I never knew exactly who he was. Sangat ignorant kan. And I love Wikipedia so much(well who doesn’t), it directed to so many related subject. It is a very sad story of a good muslim man. But how good you are, its not hereditary kan but his daughter Ilyasah are doing well. For me, as long as you have a good ethics, thats enough. *Iman tak dapat diwarisi, dari seorang ayah yang bertakwa*- Iman can never be pass down/heritable, even if the father is a righteous man. A Muslim who has iman commits to follow the commands of Allah in every aspect of life. Iman is key to success in the religious realm, but also in other areas. (from Suhaibb Webb)

This entry I quote quite a number from Imam Suhaib Webb. I like his way of giving preach, its mind blown to my liking. I came across to some comments of a people who dislike another person interpret the Quran as he wish. I mean…I think he got it wrong. If the person is true believer and has no intention to understand the Quran ‘only’ on his way, he’ll definitely will try to understand of the history of why the verse is being revealed first. People knows, come on.. Quran is an amazing book, no matter how much you read, you gain new things, everytime, and as what Imam Subaib Webb said, Quran verses is like telling us “ FILL YOUR PROBLEMS HERE”. (That reminds me of writing a post on his talk I attend regarding this). It does to me…and that’s how Quran give so much impact in ones life, apart from understanding the REAL meaning of the verses and its command. To me, to read Quran, theres a priority chain of command that is  (1) Understand the history of the revelation of the surah/verse (2) Practice the command (because not all verses are ‘story’ but mere command from Allah) (3) After knowing the importance of (1) and (2), if it suits your situation and you feel like Allah talking to you, I’d say..why not. If it brings you closer to Allah, why not.

I will give example for this. Below is a verse from Surah . I have few verses that I bookmark-ed because it really does touches me and fits my situation.

I used to amalkan this verse everytime after solat as ayat ruqyah, but now tak lagi…But it really does help me. Reading this alone dah buat I menangis sungguh-sungguh time kesusahan dulu

Ayat 81. Then when they had cast down, Musa (Moses) said: “What you have brought is sorcery, Allah will surely make it of no effect. Verily, Allah does not set right the work of Al-Mufsidun (the evil-doers, corrupts, etc.).

Ayat 82. “And Allah will establish and make apparent the truth by His Words, however much the Mujrimun (criminals, disbelievers, polytheists, sinners, etc.) may hate it.”

If you read the verse, its clearly about Nabi Musa and the pharaoh’s sorcerer. Nabi Musa is being challenged by the sorcerer, and it’s a doa Nabi Musa recite..Its also to reminder that sihr is unlawful and strictly forbidden in Islam. Ok so here we cover the (1)history, why this verse is revealed (2) Reminder from Allah/command, that is : Sihr is unlawful and Allah will make it no effect. Don’t practice and use sihr in any means!

Ok so now I had a situation, this verse is so related to me that I cried a lot as if Allah is hearing every misery I had (of course He does)

*This post has so many revision and having problems to upload it..So the ending i lupa nak close macamana hehe..

*Alhamdulillah i got a new job, i’ll be in a new place on the 11th of June 2012.. Thank You Allah.

Leave a Reply

